Sri Lanka unveil 15-member squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2022

Sri Lanka announces Womens Asia Cup squad

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Wednesday, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2022, scheduled to take place in Bangladesh from October 1-15.

The Islanders have made three changes to the side that travelled to Birmingham for the Commonwealth Games with Wicketkeeper-batter Kaushani Nuthyangana, left-arm pacer Tharika Sewwandi and all-rounder Madushika Methtananda replacing Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhani, and Vishmi Gunaratne.

Both Kanchana and Prabodhani have been dropped due to their poor recent form, while Gunaratne is suffering from a suspected stress fracture on her back. The remaining side remains unchanged, with Chamari Athapaththu leading the unit featuring the likes of star batters Hasini Perera and Harshitha Samarawickrama, all-rounders Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Malsha Shehani and Methtananda, and Sanjeewani and Nuthyangana.

Sri Lanka will start their campaign on the opening day (October 1) against India before facing UAE and Thailand on October 2 and 4, respectively. They Island nation will then meet Malaysia and Bangladesh on October 8 and 10 before locking horns with Pakistan on October 11 to finish their league matches.

Sri Lanka squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2022:

Chamari Athapaththu (captain), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Kaveesha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeewani (wk), Kaushani Nuthyangana, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Malsha Shehani, Madushika Meththananda, Inoka Ranaweera, Rashmi Silva, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasuriya, Tharika Sewwandi.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.